Photo courtesy BBC 

As it traditionally does in the final days of November, the BBC has revealed its annual longlist for the 2017 edition of its "Sound of" series.

The nominees for the Sound of 2017 include a number of rising acts, such as Anderson .Paak (who's already had a rather impressive 2016 stateside), along with Maggie Rogers, Declean McKenna, Jorja Smith, The Japanese House, RAYE and more. 

Similar to previous years, the longlist is determined by around 170 music industry "experts" such as critics and broadcasters, with the final five revealed starting on Jan. 2 and the winner announced on Jan. 6.

Previous winners include Adele, Sam Smith, Jack Garratt, HAIM and Ellie Goulding.

See the Sound of 2017 nominees below.

AJ Tracey
Anderson .Paak
Declan McKenna
Jorja Smith
Maggie Rogers
Nadia Rose
Rag ‘n’ Bone Man
Stefflon Don
The Amazons
The Japanese House
Tom Grennan




Rick Ross to Host 2017 MTV Woodies at SXSW
Jay Z on Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction: I Remember When Rap Was 'A Fad'
Beale Street Music Fest Lineup: Soundgarden, Kings of Leon, Snoop Dogg & More
Roots Picnic 2017 Lineup: Pharrell, Solange, Lil Wayne & More
Listen: Linkin Park Recruits Kiiara for Soft New Single 'Heavy'
Watch: Maggie Rogers Makes Stunning TV Debut on 'Tonight Show'