Photo of DJ Shadow, courtesy artist

DJ Shadow has released a new song called "Horror Show," which features Danny Brown.

The track is from a new EP, titled The Mountain Has Fallen, which is out on Friday (July 7), DJ Shadow confirmed today.

Premiering the song on Annie Mac's BBC Radio 1 show tonight, the producer said of his desire to team up with Brown: "I grew up in an era where everybody in hip-hop was a character, and to me, I like that," he explained. "I like when people are kind of out there a little bit and doing something completely against the grain. If you look at what is played on the radio and what’s trendy, he goes against all of that in a way that I admire."

The Mountain Has Fallen will also feature Nas, who collaborated with DJ Shadow recently on "Systematic," which appears on the Silicon Valley soundtrack.

Update: DJ Shadow has released the full EP, explaining he passed on a "comfortable" major label deal. "I guess you could say that this new EP is my version of a victory lap," he said in a statement. "It’s a celebration, and an extension of those confident steps forward."

The Mountain Has Fallen, which includes "Horror Show," can be heard below.

Get the Latest in Your Inbox