Photo of FKA twigs performing, by Chrissy Mauck/Fender

Alt-J, Run the Jewels, FKA twigs, Young Fathers, Courtney Barnett and Alabama Shakes are among those nominated for this year's AIM Independent Awards.

The fifth annual celebration, presented by U.K. independent music trade organization AIM, is set for Sept. 8 at London's The Brewery.

Categories include Best Difficult Second Album, for which Alabama Shakes and Young Fathers are both nominated; Independent Breakthrough of the Year, which includes nominees FKA twigs, Courtney Barnett, Run the Jewels, Wolf Alice and Songhoy Blues; Independent Track of the Year, which has Alt-J, Major Lazer, FKA twigs, Jamie xx and Unknown Mortal Orchestra up against each other. Independent Album of the Year nominees include Father John Misty, Young Fathers and Björk, among others.

London Grammar and Arctic Monkeys were among last year's big winners, as the latter's AM won Independent Album of the Year.

See the full list of nominees below.

Best Small Label

Basick Records

Erased Tapes Records

High Focus Records

Planet Mu Records

Rocket Girl

Best Difficult Second Album

Alabama Shakes – Sound & Color

Holly Herndon – Platform

Nadine Shah – Fast Food

The 2 Bears – The Night is Young

Young Fathers – White Men Are Black Men Too

Special Catalogue Release of the Year

Cities of Darkscorch Boardgame

Frankie Goes To Hollywood – Inside the Pleasuredome

Björk – Coloured Vinyl Catalogue Reissue

The Pretty Things – Bouquets From a Cloudy Sky

Imogen Heap – Sparks (Deluxe Boxset)

Oasis (What’s The Story) Morning Glory? Reissue

Hardest Working Band or Artist

Courtney Barnett


Little Comets


Young Fathers

Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival


Barn On The Farm

Brainchild Festival

Pete The Monkey

Truck Festival

Independent Breakthrough of the Year

Courtney Barnett

FKA twigs

Run The Jewels

Songhoy Blues

Wolf Alice

Indie Champion

Camilla Pia, BBC 6Music

Marc Riley, BBC 6Music

Peter Guy, Getintothis

Rupert Morrison, The Drift Record Shop

Tim Burgess, Songwriter & O Genesis Music Ltd

Independent Video of the Year

Alt-J – Hunger Of The Pine

Flying Lotus – Never Catch Me

Ghostpoet – Sorry My Love, It’s You Not Me

Ibeyi – River

Son Lux – Change Is Everything

Best Live Act

All Time Low




To Kill a King

Twin Atlantic

Independent Track of the Year

Alt-J – Every Other Freckle

Courtney Barnett – Pedestrian at Best

FKA twigs – Two Weeks

Jamie XX – Loud Places

LA Priest – Oino

Major Lazer – Lean On

Mogwai – Teenage Exorcists

Neck Deep – Can’t Kick Up The Roots

Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Multi-Love

Wiley – On A Level

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Act

FKA twigs



Ward Thomas

Independent Album of the Year

Björk – Vulnicura

Enter Shikari – The Mindsweep

Father John Misty – I Love You, Honeybear

Ghostpoet – Shedding Skin

Jme – Integrity>

The Bug – Angels & Devils

The Charlatans – Modern Nature

The Xcerts – There Is Only You

Wolf Alice – My Love Is Cool

Young Fathers – White Men Are Black Men Too

Independent Label of the Year

Epitaph Records

Erased Tapes Records

Heavenly Recordings

Planet Mu Records

Transgressive Records

Pioneer Award

Digby Pearson, Earache Records

Innovator Award

Peter Quicke, Matt Black and Jonathan More of Ninja Tune

Outstanding Contribution to Music